Historic Structure of Grosse Pointe – Lochmoor Membership – The Unique Clubhouse

Posted by Darby Moran on Tuesday, February twenty third, 2021 at 10:21am.

Exterior

Final week we offered 938 Three Mile Drive the previous house of distinguished Detroit architect William Buck Stratton and his spouse Mary Chase Perry Stratton, co-founder of the Pewabic Pottery. 

This week we stick with the work of William B. Stratton to give attention to his design for Lochmoor Membership, accomplished between 1917-18. On the time Stratton had shaped a partnership with Dalton J. Snyder. The duo labored collectively from 1915 – 1925, and accomplished a number of houses in Grosse Pointe, together with 365 College Place, 341 Lakeland, and 15366 Windmill Pointe. 

Dalton J. Snyder, born in 1880, was an especially gifted designer and had a productive profession. His work lined a broad-spectrum of tasks, together with a number of prestigious residences, in Grosse Pointe and Indian Village. He additionally accomplished various business buildings, together with the Ladies’s Metropolis Membership, Ford Hospital and Maybury Sanitarium, together with a number of film theaters in Detroit (in affiliation with Stratton). Dalton Snyder lived in Grosse Pointe, having designed his own residence, 255 Lewiston, which was accomplished in 1929. 

The unique Lochmoor Clubhouse was considered one of three clubhouses which have graced the property. Stratton and Snyder designed two of the clubhouses. The primary was accomplished in 1917-18. It was demolished in 1924, due to a fireplace. Stratton and Snyder additionally designed the substitute clubhouse, accomplished later that yr – it was demolished in 1968. A 3rd clubhouse that stands at this time changed it. The primary picture is of the unique clubhouse (courtesy of The Michigan Architect and Engineer, 1920). The second picture is of the second clubhouse taken in 1929 (courtesy of digital.library.wayne.edu). The third picture is an artist’s sketch of the current clubhouse (courtesy of lochmoorclub.com) – the brand new clubhouse opened on Thanksgiving Day in 1969.

Exterior

CLubhouse 1929

Clubhouse Current

Lochmoor Membership was based in 1917. A gaggle of Detroit golf lovers reportedly bought 135 acres of farmland for the membership to be situated. The land had as soon as been a part of the farms of Bellonie V. D’Handt, the Beaufaits and the VanAntwerps. It’s reported the value for the land was $150,000 (round $3m at this time) – paid to the Grosse Pointe Enchancment Co. We perceive Lochmoor Membership was based by a few of Grosse Pointe’s most socially distinguished households who felt there was an actual want for extra recreation services for the residents of Indian Village and Grosse Pointe. Edsel Ford was a founding member as had been each the Dodge brothers (John and Horace) together with sixty-seven constitution members. As soon as the membership grew to become firmly established locally many distinguished households grew to become members, together with: Eddie Rickenbacker, two of the Fisher brothers, Frank Alger, J. Brooks Nichols, Standish Backus, together with Oscar Weber of the J.L. Hudson empire. Supply: www.lochmoorclub.com

The constructing was an irregular, low, rambling construction with many home windows. We perceive, from an article in Michigan Architect and Engineer, 1920, that the clubhouse was first an previous house that was transformed occasionally to suit the wants of the rising membership. The inside of the membership was significantly necessary to its members and acquired the upmost consideration. ‘Much less consideration was paid maybe to the looks from the skin than to the consolation and attractiveness of the inside, and this inside, too, was carried out to emphasise the needs of the membership – primarily a “nation” membership’. Supply: Michigan Architect and Engineer, 1920. 

William B. Stratton was an enormous advocate of the Artwork & Crafts motion in Detroit, together with a number of others distinguished architects together with Albert Kahn. As a part of the dedication to this motion Stratton helped set up the primary and second annual exhibitions of arts and crafts held on the Detroit Museum of Artwork in 1904, and 1905. Given Stratton’s love of this model, and his affect, the clubhouse was embellished by Detroit’s Society of Arts and Crafts. From the article in Michigan Architect and Engineer we are able to report ‘the society felt that the clubhouse was the place to make use of concepts which might distinguish the area from one which was merely a “city membership” set down, because it had been, on the fringe of a golf course’. 

The principle entrance opened right into a flagged loggia, which result in the large room that was designated as the boys’s lounge. The principle point of interest of the logia was a effervescent fountain with a bronze child faun (designed by nationally acknowledged sculptor Laura Gardin Fraser). The water fell right into a pool tiled in brightly coloured Pewabic tile. It’s reported Stratton designed the fountain. Reverse the fountain, brightly coloured parrots carved from wooden, adorned a lattice on the wall. Main from the loggia was a large and lengthy veranda that confronted the golf course. It was embellished with wicker chairs and spherical tables, with parchment lanterns, in orange and black, hanging from the ceiling. Photographs are courtesy of Michigan Architect and Engineer, 1920. 

Fountain

Fountain Figure

It’s believed the clubhouse had an abundance of home windows, a lot of which had been curtained in purple, white and blue cretonne, with the parrot because the motif. The lighting had been wrought iron, with parchment shades in varied colours (relying on the room). The clubhouse had two eating rooms; the newer one was embellished primarily in inexperienced and blue, with low-hanging beams painted in blue with a stenciled design. The room was vivid and open, due to the southern and western publicity, comprising nearly completely of home windows on the 2 sides. The newer eating room additionally featured a big oak buffet together with a mural with parrots on the east wall.  Picture is courtesy of Michigan Architect and Engineer, 1920. 

Buffet

The lengthy lounge was initially used for dancing. In 1920, a brand new and bigger males’s lounge was added. Upon completion the brand new males’s lounge was additionally used because the ballroom. The previous lounge grew to become the brand new women lounge. The brand new lounge for the women of the membership featured an enormous ornamental fire, together with wicker chairs and completely different nests of painted tables that had been at all times prepared for the tea hour. Supply and pictures: Michigan Architect and Engineer, 1920. 

Mens Lounge

Mens Lounge 2

Mens Fireplace

Ladies Lounge

Ladies Fireplace

Usually a lot of the inside design sought “informality and luxury”. Famous inside designers, underneath the watchful eye of the architects Stratton and Snyder, created a lot of the décor. It’s believed the colour scheme and ornament of the membership was chosen to create an environment of freshness and leisure. Sadly the unique clubhouse was misplaced to fireplace in 1924. 

Subsequent week, partly 2, we’ll discover the historical past of the golf course at Lochmoor Membership.

*Images courtesy of the Higbie Maxon Agney archives until acknowledged.

Written by Katie Doelle
Copyright © 2021 Higbie Maxon Agney & Katie Doelle

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here